interview with author sophia whittemore!

hi everyone! *waves* today, i’ll be interviewing author sophia whittemore! sophia has a couple published books, some upcoming, and a few WIPs that she is going to be talking about!

1) tell us a bit about yourself, and share the link to your blog! also, feel free to link any other social media you have!

Author bio. Sophia Whittemore is a multiracial author with an Indonesian mother and a Minnesotan father. She penned THE FUNNYMAN during her sophomore year of high school at Benet Academy and published it as a senior. Her love for the English language manifested itself in eighth grade when she went to the Scripps National Spelling Bee and has continued with other languages such as Spanish and Indonesian. Her prior publications include “A Clock’s Work” in a Handersen
Publishing magazine, “Blind Man’s Bluff” in Parallel Ink, and winning awards in the Best Midwestern Writing competition for high school writers. She currently resides in Chicago, Illinois with her family and food- loving mini schnauzer called Tiger. Drawing on inspiration from her two cultural backgrounds, Sophia lives a life playing tennis, traveling, and writing about her dual life experiences through other characters in her works or on her blog.
Soph: I love Chicago! And tennis! That is awesome that you penned your first novel as a sophomore!

2) what are the title of your books that have been published? how about the upcoming ones? the WIPs? can you give a short summary of each?

The first of the Impetus Rising Series was titled “The FUNNYMAN”. The second coming out July 21st of 2016 is “Death’s Fool”. And the WIP is the final book in the series “Madcap”. Here’s the summary for the first book:
Do not call his name. Whatever you do, do not let the Impetus god Fear find you.
Too late for Diana. Kidnapped. Trapped in a beautiful world that kills. There’s no one she can turn to. Even her knight in shining armor is deadly.
Can Diana escape from a world where love ends in bloodshed, humans are pets, and your own shadow can kill you? Or will she remain a plaything of the Impetus gods…forever?
The second book follows the first where the Impetus must do battle against the mutations of Fear’s shadow-human hybrid army. And the final book follows the Apocalypse and the Impetus attempts to stop it.

3) how long have you been writing? how old were you when you started?

I’ve been writing since I learned how to write a story in third grade. (So forever basically) but serious, magazine related writing started in eight grade when I searched for submissions in magazines and competitions.

Soph: That’s crazy (and awesome) that you started so young!

4) do you have a quote from any of your books? why does it stand out to you?

“To love, to live, to feel so much that your world keeps spinning, faster and faster, in that wonderful, chaotic mess of humanity that you’d so hastily give up. Immortality is overrated. It is nothing but the ability to live through it all and not experience a single thing, to eat everything without tasting it at all.” Isak’s eyes shone with a desperate need. He wanted, more than anything it seemed, to be like me, when all I wanted was to be like him.”
― Sophia Whittemore, The Funnyman
This quote stood out for me because it was me speaking from the heart. For a second, I just became my characters and spoke as I would within that situation. And it was beautiful.
Soph: Oh, this is beautiful! You can really tell that this came from your heart!

5) what genre(s) do you categorize your books in?

Fantasy. Adventure. Romance. Urban fantasy. And action.

6) let’s hear about some characters- give us a few fun facts about each one! the characters can be from any work of yours!

Well, my character of Isaakios is an immortal god who is a god of comedy who lacks humor because of a dark past. My main character Diana is half Indian and I’m half Indonesian (so she’s sort of like me in that respect!) and the Impetus gods are based on a mix of multiple mythologies and spiritualities with concepts like universal power, immortality, and reincarnation.

Soph: Did someone say gods and mythologies? I NEED this book!

7) where do your books normally take place? does the location have any special meaning to you?

Location goes urban usually to a basic suburb. I grew up in a suburb so the almost boring feeling behind it lends itself to characters ready to go on a highly paced adventure!

8) who are some authors you look up to, if there are any, and why? have they inspired any part of your writing?

Neil Gaiman for sure and Stephen King. Their different pieces of advice on writing motivated me to keep trying even through the difficult rejections and writer’s block.

9) what can we look forward to in your upcoming books?

The characters will bring the battlefield to some new locations both worldwide and in the Impetus realms! Castles, dungeons, and bustling world marketplaces here we come!

Soph: YAY!

10) are there any events in real life that have impacted your stories? if so, how? 

My dad had cancer during my high school career and my mom had diabetes that same time. My characters felt forced when I tried to write life into them. I fell into a pitfall of not feeling good enough, powerless to write any life into these all powerful godly types.
Luckily writing also got me out of that funk and back into a healthy lifestyle.
Soph: I’m sorry to hear that. I hope all is well! And I’m glad writing helped you get out of the funk ❤

11) what are some books you grew up reading? if you had to choose, which would be your favorite?

Besides every single one of the books by my favorite authors, T.A. Barron and Tamora Pierce introduced me to strong female heroines who kicked butt and solved quests along the way. Go girls!
My favorite would be: The Immortal Lioness- Tamora Pierce

12) last but not least, sell us one of your upcoming books in five words! it can be any book you choose, since you have quite a few releasing in the near future!

The Impetus Rising Series: What happens when gods lie?

Soph: You’ve sold it to me. XD

Huge thank you to Sophia for taking the time to answer these questions and talk about her novels! I cannot wait to get my hands on one! (which do I even start with? they all sound amazing!)

Leave a Reply

